## Territories of the British Empire and Commonwealth

### Former English Territories 1066-1558 now belonging to another nation

- Normandy (now part of France)
- Aguitaine (now part of France)

#### Former Scottish Territory 1696-1700 now belonging to another nation

• Darien (now part of Panama)

#### Former British Territories 1607-1922 now independent or belonging to other nations

- Afghanistan
- Egypt
- Heligoland (now part of Germany)
- Ionian Islands (now part of Greece)
- Minorca (now part of Spain)
- Mosquito Coast (now part of Nicaragua)
- Oregon (now part of the United States of America)
- Sandwich (Hawaiian) Islands (now part of the United States of America)
- Thirteen Colonies (now part of the United States of America)

# Former British Dominions, Colonies, Protectorates, Protected and Associated States, Mandated and Trust Territories now independent or belonging to other nations

- Aden (now part of Yemen)
- Antigua and Barbuda
- Australia
- Bahamas
- Bahrein
- Barbados
- Basutoland (now Lesotho)
- Bechuanaland (now Botswana)
- British Cameroons (now part of Nigeria and Cameroon)
- British Guiana (now Guyana)
- British Honduras (now Belize)
- British New Guinea (Now Papua New Guinea)
- British Somaliland (now part of Somalia, unilaterally declared independence)
- British Togoland (now part of Ghana)
- Brunei
- Burma (now Myanmar)
- Canada
- Cape Colony (now part of South Africa)
- Ceylon (now Sri Lanka)
- Cook Islands

- Cyprus
- Dominica
- Federated Malay States (now part of Malaysia)
- Fiji
- Gambia
- Gilbert and Ellice Islands (now Kiribati and Tuvalu)
- Gold Coast (now Ghana)
- Grenada
- Hong Kong
- India
- Iraq
- Irish Free State (now Republic of Ireland)
- Jamaica
- Kenya
- Kuwait
- Labuan (now part of Malaysia)
- Leeward Islands
- Malacca (now part of Malaysia)
- Malaya (now part of Malaysia)
- Maldives
- Malta
- Mauritius
- Natal (now part of South Africa)
- Nauru
- New Hebrides (now Vanuatu)
- Newfoundland (now part of Canada)
- New Zealand
- Nigeria
- Niue
- North Borneo (now part of Malaysia)
- Northern Rhodesia (now Zambia)
- Nyasaland (now Malawi)
- Orange River Colony (now part of South Africa)
- Palestine (now Israel)
- Penang (now part of Malaysia)
- Saint Christopher and Nevis
- Saint Lucia
- Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
- Sarawak (now part of Malaysia)
- Seychelles
- Sierra Leone
- Singapore
- Solomon Islands
- Southern Rhodesia
- Southwest Africa (now Namibia)
- Straits Settlements (now part of Malaysia)

- Sudan
- Suez Canal Zone (now part of Egypt)
- Swaziland
- Tanganyika (now part of Tanzania)
- Tonga
- Transjordan (now Jordan)
- Transvaal (now part of South Africa)
- Trinidad and Tobago
- Trucial Coast (now United Arab Emirates and Qatar)
- Trucial Oman (now Oman)
- Turks and Caicos Islands
- Uganda
- Union of South Africa (now Republic of South Africa)
- Weiheiwei (now part of China)
- Western Samoa (now Samoa)
- Windward Islands
- Zanzibar (now part of Tanzania)

#### Former British Territories 1945 - 1952 now independent or belonging to other nations

- Dodecanese Islands (now part of Greece)
- Eritrea
- Italian Somaliland (now part of Somalia)
- Tripolitania (now part of Libya)

#### **United Kingdom Overseas Territories Today:**

- Akrotiri and Dhekelia (Sovereign Base Areas Cyprus)
- Anguilla
- Bermuda
- British Antarctic Territory
- British Indian Ocean Territory
- British Virgin Islands
- Cayman Islands
- Falkland Islands
- Gibraltar
- Montserrat
- Pitcairn Islands
- St Helena and Dependencies
- South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands
- Turks and Caicos Islands

#### **United Kingdom Crown Dependencies Today:**

- Channel Islands (Guernsey and Jersey)
- Isle of Man

# **Independent Members of the Commonwealth of Nations Today:**

- Antigua and Barbuda
- Australia
- Bahamas
- Bangladesh
- Barbados
- Belize
- Botswana
- Brunei
- Cameroon
- Canada
- Cyprus
- Dominica
- Fiji Islands
- The Gambia
- Ghana
- Grenada
- Guyana
- India
- Jamaica
- Kenya
- Kiribati
- Lesotho
- Malawi
- Malaysia
- Maldives
- Malta
- Mauritius
- Mozambique
- Namibia
- Nauru
- New Zealand
- Nigeria
- Pakistan
- Papua New Guinea
- Rwanda
- Samoa
- Seychelles
- Sierra Leone
- Singapore
- Solomon Islands
- South Africa
- Sri Lanka
- St. Kitts and Nevis
- St. Lucia

- St. Vincent and the Grenadines
- Swaziland
- Tanzania
- Tonga
- Trinidad and Tobago
- Tuvalu
- Uganda
- United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
- Vanuatu
- Zambia

#### **Former Members of the Commonwealth of Nations:**

- Ireland (withdrew 1949)
- Zimbabwe (withdrew 2003)

#### Former British Colonies and Mandates not joined the Commonwealth of Nations:

- Aden (now part of Yemen)
- British Somaliland (now part of Somalia, unilaterally declared independence)
- Burma
- Palestine (now Israel and Jordan)
- Sudan

#### **Returned Members of the Commonwealth of Nations:**

- Fiji Islands (membership lapsed 1987, returned 1997)
- Pakistan (withdrew 1972, returned 1989)
- South Africa (withdrew 1961, returned 1994)

## **Applicants to join the Commonwealth of Nations:**

- Algeria
- Cambodia
- Israel
- Madagascar
- Palestinian Authority
- Sudan
- Yemen

#### **Interested in joining the Commonwealth of Nations:**

- Angola
- Democratic Republic of The Congo
- East Timor
- Georgia